Always on the Right Side of the Issues

April 28, 2010

“Arizona puts the AZ in Nazi?”

Filed under: Uncategorized — choosetheright @ 4:04 am

Okay I haven’t updated this blog in forever.  I have many excuses, well 2, both under the age of 2 😉  And mostly I really struggle with debating.  This blog is my opinion.  I hate feeling attacked for my opinion.  But anyway… the topic that has brought this back is the new bill passed here in Arizona that is making it illegal to be an illegal immigrant.

Okay first of all… why we need a bill for this is beyond me.  It is a crime to come into this country without taking the proper steps.  It blows my mind that cops up until this bill was passed could not ask for legal documentation.  I mean, I need to show a driver’s license when I get pulled over right?  Why should anyone be an exception to that?  And if I can’t provide the proper identification there are consequences for that.  I do not feel harassed by having to show identification.  I can’t even fathom people comparing this to Nazi’s and the holocaust.  I’m sorry but are we killing a race of people by the thousands?  No.  Not at all.

My heart does ache for these people who just want a better life.  I do not blame them for wanting to come into this country.  But do it the right way!  Is it hard? I’m sure it is!  I can not claim to know all the steps, I haven’t researched it enough, but I know it’s not an easy for inexpensive process.  But I think of my ancestors who came from Ireland, Poland and England.  I am sure it was no where near easy for them to get here.  They worked for generations to get here.  For people to just blatantly disrespect the laws and come here anyway they please makes me nuts.

Arizona is also currently trying to pass a tax increase to help our schools.  I’m sorry, but if the immigration problem was taken care of, there would seriously be millions of dollars per city!  I am not sure how I feel about the tax increase… that will have to be another post.  But I do think that taking care of immigration is going to help the economy here immensely.

7 Comments »

  1. I agree! It’s not like the cops are going to bang down doors and ask everyone for “papers”. It is something that should have been done before! I have no problem showing my ID or showing my passport when I travel. So I’m glad SOMETHING is finally being done. I am not a racist but I agree in following the laws of the land and that means becoming a legal resident!

    Comment by Lachelle — April 28, 2010 @ 4:12 am

  2. I couldn’t agree more with everything you said. I think it’s a situation that is out of control and has consequences beyond what many realize. I hope the bill AZ passed makes a difference and that other states follow suit.

    Comment by Aimee Lauder — April 28, 2010 @ 4:16 am

  3. Well said!!!

    Comment by Jamie — April 28, 2010 @ 1:06 pm

  4. As you could imagine I disagree with you on this one. The reason is that though the idea of this law is okay the way it is going to be carried out is not. That is like a law passing that says that blondes should not be able drive because they are just not capable of doing it right. If I lived in AZ I would be a target to police and would probably be stopped on a daily basis just for looking spanish…I thought racial profiling was not legal and this makes it legal. If there is someone here illegally from Ireland or Romania and they are white with blonde hair, are they really going to be stopped and asked to prove documentation? NO, because they fit the part. What people need to do, specially those who say they are not racist, is remember that illegal immigrants do not just look spanish or come from spanish countries! This is going to create chaos and the economy of AZ is going to fall because a lot of people are going to move away as a result. Is there a problem with immigration…yes, but there surely must be a better way to fix it than racial profiling.

    Comment by Johanna — April 28, 2010 @ 10:19 pm

    • Johanna, I do agree that there are probably cops out there that shouldn’t have this power. That’s really the only problem I have with the bill. I do believe that most cops are good and this bill does not legalize racial profiling. It is just giving cops the authority to enforce the law. It has been a shame to me to see cops’ hands tied by a law that only allows Federal Agents with special training in immigration to be able to determine someone’s immigration status. The police are going to receive special training, and still have to have probable cause to ask for documentation. Probable cause is more than just looking Hispanic. I have seen situations where a cop pulls over a truck with 8 people hiding in the bed, none of them can speak a lick of English, and the cop cannot ask for their status. It is situations like this where I’m glad that this bill is going to help.

      Comment by choosetheright — April 29, 2010 @ 2:25 am

    • Johanna,
      I have to disagree with your analogy, mostly because being blonde is a physical property, while being in the country illegally is a conscious choice. I don’t personally care where someone is from, their religion, color, or anything, if they are in the country illegally. Geographically the likelihood that there are many illegal Canadians or Russians is small, but I hope this bill results in them getting punished for their crime as well. I know that there is a lot of press saying that this will allow racial profiling. However, the bill is strongly worded to prevent just that. From the law

      “A LAW ENFORCEMENT OFFICIAL OR AGENCY OF THIS STATE OR A COUNTY, CITY, TOWN OR OTHER POLITICAL SUBDIVISION OF THIS STATE MAY NOT SOLELY CONSIDER RACE, COLOR OR NATIONAL ORIGIN IN IMPLEMENTING THE REQUIREMENTS OF THIS SUBSECTION EXCEPT TO THE EXTENT PERMITTED BY THE UNITED STATES OR ARIZONA CONSTITUTION.”

      It specifically bans racial profiling, and it irritates me when media outlets try to say otherwise. Basically, the police can’t stop you for your looks. The idea that cops would stop you on a daily basis is really outlandish. It is only in the course of another stop, i.e. speeding or running a red light. So unless you have a lead foot and are usually pulled over everyday, which I don’t recall you being a speed demon…Anyway, as far as requiring proof of being a legal migrant, that is not a state law, its actually a federal law since 1940. The only change this law does is allow the local level authorities to enforce that law. Anyone with an US driver’s license has nothing to fear, since that is accepted as proof of citizenship. I know that probably doesn’t quell your concerns. “What about abusing the law” you may say. Any good law can be abused by those who are corrupt, or power hungry. However, I put more faith in the local, county and state authorities to be less corrupt than the federal agencies who were supposed to prevent this problem in the first place. And it is a problem. It is putting a huge economic strain on schools, public welfare programs, and other government agencies. Phoenix is the number one kidnapping and human smuggling city in the US, and a majority of violent gang crimes here are committed by illegal aliens. Well, I normally don’t get involved in politics, and rarely make an argument, especially with someone that I highly respect and like a lot. But I just couldn’t let a good friend be misled by what the press is saying. I know the people who wrote this bill Johanna, and I know in their hearts they do not have hatred towards any race or creed. This state is in a crisis, however, and we have to take back our homes. I know several immigrants who came here legally, and I would fight to the end for them if I thought they were being harassed in anyway. But I don’t see that happening with this bill. Anyways, I am rambling now, so goodnight and we’ll see you in May! An article I would recommend in the NY Times http://www.nytimes.com/2010/04/29/opinion/29kobach.html

      Comment by Aaron — April 29, 2010 @ 3:47 am

  5. I just think that it is not the best idea to give local police that much power; it will be abused, and that is what upsets me. Like the article says in the last paragraph maybe the better thing to do would be to enforce the laws already in place. I don’t live there though so I guess I do not really understand the smuggling problem you guys are having. Living in NJ though I know illegal immigrants from all over the globe who are here and feel safe and comfortable with no fears because it seems that it is just the spanish population that they are after. I guess I just take it personal because the majority of immigrants come here to work and have a better life not to break laws. People say that immigrants don’t pay taxes but in reality there is a special number that the IRS gives out to non-legal immigrants to file taxes and the majority do because they know that if they are ever to be legally in the country having payed taxes is required. Others will say that immigrants steal jobs but not many ziticens want to clean toilets, be farm workers, or other dirty jobs…they rather be on welfare before taking a job that is beneath them but they still drive the best car, have the newest phone out there and get food for free. If anything that type of abuse to the system is hurting the economy more than the immigrants who are working for all they have. Aaron, I don’t know if you see my point at all…I am not against laws being enforced and there being justice for breaking the law, and I agree that there is a growing immigration issue but I don’t feel this new bill is the right way to go.

    Comment by Johanna — April 29, 2010 @ 10:46 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

